Banku suspended,licence revoked …as name omitted from latest GBA rankings

Banku suspended,licence revoked …as name omitted from latest GBA rankings

The Ghana Boxing Authority (GBA) has released ratings for its boxers in the various weight categories for the period spanning April 1 to June, 2020, leaving out controversial pugilist, Braimah Kamoko – better known as Bukom Banku.

The list has the champion and its contenders for all various categories – right from light flyweight to heavyweight.

When contacted yesterday on why Banku’s name was omitted, GBA scribe Patrick Johnson disclosed to the Times Sports that the Ratings Committee had suspended and revoked the licence of the boxer.

“The reason for his suspension is that he owns Box Office Promotions and until he pays that money, he remains suspended and will not be able to fight in Ghana or go international.”

He said Banku pleaded to be allowed to go and fight in Britain in September last year and upon his return will settle his debt; “but up till today, he has not fulfilled his promise, hence GBA’s rod falling heavily on him.”

Banku knocked out his Hungarian opponent, Ferenc Albert, to win his first international fight outside Africa at the at the St George Hall in Bradford, United Kingdom, last September in a cruiserweight contest.

The cruiserweight division, where he fights has been declared a vacant one by the GBA – listing Ayittey Powers, Paa Kwesi Ankrah, Enoch Quaye, and Mohammed Ali as contenders without Bukom Banku in there. The WBO Africa champion is Abraham Tabul.

Heavyweight category also has the title declared vacant with contenders Ebenezer Tetteh, Richard Harrison, John Napari, Enoch Quaye, Ishmael Djan, Ofei Dodoo, Kamil Mohammed and Osumanu Haruna, while the light heavyweight category also has a vacant title with contenders George Banson, Atoli Moore, Emmanuel Danso, Jacob Dickson and Ahmed Abdula. Bastir Samir is the PBC light/heavyweight champion.

The super middleweight division has Delali Miledze as the champion with Emmanuel Adjei Anim, Charles Adamu, Stephen Abbey, Ishmael Tetteh, Prince Oko Nartey, Iddrisah Kalu Amadu, Issah Inusah, Michael Osunla Osuman and Eliasu Sulley.

Miledzi, who is also the WABU super middleweight champion has a mandatory title defence fixed for June 26. Emmanuel Martey is the WBO Africa champion.

The middleweight division has no champion with Issah Samir, Habib Ahmed, Daniel Adoku, Emmanuel Quaye, John Akulugu, Mawuli Foli, Mubarak Abubakar, Abubakari Samed, Theophilus Ofei Dodoo, Daniel Adjei Sowah, Aryee Ayittey, Isaac Sowah, Baba Musah, Michael Darko and Ago Ashong as contenders. Osumanu Adama is the IBO Intercontinental/ former WBC American champion. Obodai Sai is WBO African champion and John Koudeha – IBF Africa champion.

Super welterweight division has no champion with Dan Lartey, Eric Kwardey, Theophilus Tetteh  Musah Lawson, Frank Dodze, Aziz Sampson, Mandela Atuulik and Jebril Mohammed as contenders. Patrick Allotey holds the WBO Africa title with Joshua Clottey the former IBF World super welter champion, while welterweight division also having no champion with Joseph Lamptey, Raphael King, Abdul Aziz Quartey, Albert Mensah, Justice Addy, Abraham Afful, Senator Agbenya, Richard Dogbega, Dozdie Kemeh, Korley Collison, Kofi Manu, Ben Ankrah, Isaac Tetteh and Ebenezer Money Sowah as contenders. Fredrick Lawson is the IBF Continental Africa champ/WBC Silver International belt holder and Richmond Djarbeng, former WBA Pan champion.

At the super lightweight division, Tackie Annan, Bilali Mohammed, Anama Dotse, Charles Lesko Sossiya, Sampson Segbetsi, Stephen Quaye, Benjamin Kuwornu, Amos Denji, Patrick Kodjoe, Richard Amefu, Daniel Oduro, Emmanuel Ardey Aryee and Raphael Deh have been declared as contenders for the vacant title. Robert Quaye is the Interim WBO Africa Champion.

The lightweight division has Michael Ansah as the champion with Sheriff Quaye, Kpakpo Allotey, Faisal Abubakari, Victor Kuwormu, Benjamin Lamptey, Ishmael Aryeetey, Samuel Akrogo, Michael Pappoe, Sheriff Seidu, Richman Ashley, Odartey Lamptey, Enoch Lamptey, John Quaye, Eric Ameshiokor, Ayittey Mettle, Moses Dodze and Azumah Mohammed as contenders. Richard Commey – former IBF World Champion, Emmanuel Tagoe – WBO Global/ IBF International lightweight champion and George Ashie – Interim WBO Africa champion.

Ansah has his mandatory title defence fixed for June 26.

Felix Adjorm is the super featherweight champion whose mandatory title defence is fixed for August 6 and has Patrick Okine, Razak Nettey, Michael Ofei Doodo, Bright Ayala,  Abraham Osei Bonsu, Emmanuel Quartey, Nathaniel Nukpe, Isaac Dorwuona, Charles Amartefio, Abdul Malik Jabir and Gabriel Coffie as his contenders

Felix Ajorm – PBC/Commonwealth/national champion and Maxwell Awuku- WBO-rated.

The featherweight has a vacant title with Patrick Ayi, Eric Quarm, Alfred Lamptey, Emmanuel Otoo, Holy Dorgbetor, George Krampah, Solomon Martey, Isaac Nettey, Success Tetteh, Ezekiel Annan, David Kotey, Emmanuel Sackey, Edward Kambasi and Yussif Issifu Seidu as contender. Felix Williams is the WBE/WBL Championship with Raphael Mensah, Former WBA African champion.

Theophilus Tetteh, Isaac Sackey, Michael Tagoe, Emmanuel Otoo, John Laryea, Felix Okine, Thompson Arap Moi, Sheriff Mohammed and Elvis Mensah have been named as contenders for the vacant super bantamweight title. Isaac Dogboe is former WBO World champion, while Wasiru Mohammed is the WBO Global champion.

The vacant bantamweight division has Prince Dzanie, Raymond Commey, Kamarudin Boyefio, Isaac Quaye, Gabriel Odoi Laryea, Umar Abdul Malik Issah, Oliagede Tunde, Michael Nelson and Mohammed Fuseini as contenders. Duke Micah is former Commonwealth champion and Joseph Agbeko, WBO Africa champion.

Super flyweight champion Manyo Plange will make his mandatory defence on June 30 in the division which has Albert Commey as a contender.

Manyo Plange is the PBC Commonwealth/ national champion.

Both light flyweight and flyweight have vacant titles and contenders.


Google+ Linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *