Foklex Media Awards unveils nominees for 10th edition

Organisers of annual Foklex Media Awards have unveiled nominees of this year’s edition which marks the 10th since the inception of the awards.

As part of the innovations of the scheme, new categories have been introduced to commemorate the 10th anniversary.

Speaking at the launch which took place at Fokuzzy Lodge at East Legon last Friday, the Chief Executive Officer of Foklex Media, Mr Frank Owusu,
said the new categories included, Morning Show Host of the Year, Male Newscaster of the Year, Female Newscaster of the Year, Male Entertainment Show Host of the Year, Female Entertainment Show Hostess of the Year, and Development Show Host of the Year.

Also, he mentioned that Entertainment and Sports Pundits had been recognised for this edition, and winners would go home with television sets, adding that 94 awards would be presented to deserving and outstanding personalities.

The Board Chairman of the scheme, Mr.Atta Daboni Snr on his part said that this edition targeted all the 16 regions of Ghana.

He said that apart from the competitive awards, there would be two special awards for some prominent personalities in Ghana who have shown exemplary leadership towards building a better future for the country’s media.

Explaining further, he indicated that voting would commence on Monday, March 22, and end on Saturday, April,24, 2021, at 5pm, which is earmarked for the main show at the National theatre.

Mr Daboni further noted that one could vote for his favourite via a short code or through Foklex Media App.

Interestingly, he disclosed that the nominee with highest number of votes will get a drive home a car prize, and second and third highest would win for themselves brand new television sets.

Jay Folie,Abena Kyei Boakye,Augustine Amoako Antwi, Tweneboah Koduah, Serwaa Amihere, Johnnie Hughes, Ama Gyenfa, Omanhene Kwabena Asante, and Randy Abbey, will battle it out for the Television Morning of the Year category.

The Female Newscaster of the Year category will see tough battle between, Lily Mohammed, Ayisha Yakubu, Maame Afia Ofosuhemaa, Frema Adunyame, Afia Amankwah Tamakloe,Adwoa Konadu Yiadom,and Ewurama Nyamewaa.

Entertainment Host of the Year, radio would be an interesting area as Christian Agyei Frimpong, Dr.Cann, Ola Michael, Andy Dosty, Akwasi Aboagye, Nana Kwame Gyan, Prince Handsome, Agyemang Prempeh prove their mettle for the ultimate.

The competition would be very keen in the Entertainment Pundit of the Year as Arnold Asamoah-Baidoo, Kwasi Ernest, Bulldog, Mr.Logic, Nana Poku Ashes, Baba Sadiq, Silky Sweet, Dan Lartey and Afia Fabregas lock horns.

By Edem Mensah-Tsotorme

Google+ Linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *