Foklex Media Awards unveils nominees, new categories introduced

Foklex Media Awards, a scheme aimed at rewarding the efforts of media personalities to uphold the tenets of the profession for the benefit of Ghanaians, has unveiled nominees for this year’s edition.

The organisers have introduced other categories, Radio Producer and Gospel Preacher of the Year.

The main event which is scheduled for April 30, 2022, at the National Theatre would see nominees battle it out for a Toyota Saloon Car, Television sets, and plaques among others.

Speaking at the launch at MJ Grand Hotel on February 26, the Board Chairman of the scheme Atta Dabone Snr. said to ensure that credibility was intact, the monitoring team went round regardless of the ravages of COVID-19 pandemic, and after submitting their report to the board, some outstanding personalities were shortlisted for nomination.

He said the contest would allow 100 per cent public voting for their favourite nominees in a five-week window from Monday, March 21 to Friday, April 30, 2022, where the main event would take place at the National Theatre.

Mr.Dabone thanked Franko Trading Enterprise for headlining this edition,  expressed appreciation to other supporting sponsors for their contribution.

Speaking to The Spectator at the unveiling, The Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Foklex Media Awards, Frank Owusu, also said it had not been easy for some time now as a result of the COVID-19 but, however, they would want to stay focus and reward hard working personalities championing Ghana’s media

He urged presenters “to stay neutral and be in the middle to put premium on what they tell Ghanaians.”

Television Morning Show Host of the Year Category would see competition from Omanhene Kwabena Asante(Adom TV), Maame Konadu (Original TV), Oheneba Nana Asiedu (Wontumi FM), Johnnie Hughes(TV3), C O Sly (Homebase TV), Abena Kyei Boakye (Kantanka TV) and Tuffour (ATV).

Female Entertainment Show Host of the Year would be a tough contest between Nana Ama McBrown(UTV), Nayaa Tsidi (Pan African TV), Kimmy Baebe (Kantanka TV), Abena Ghana (Adom TV), Nana Adwoa Annan (Atinka TV), Jacqueline Acquaye(GHOne), Mona Gucci (Onua TV), Ewurama Nyamewaa(RTV), Babie Dapaa (Max TV).

The slot for the Male Entertainment Show Host would be a tussle among, Giovani Caleb (TV3), KMJ (Joy Prime), Christian Agyei Frimpong (Onua TV), Kwesi Dope (ATV), JKD(TV XYZ), Emmanuel Sarpong(Citi TV), Papa Kumasi (RTV).

Other categories for grabs are, Television Development Show Host of the Year, Female & Male Newscasters of the Year, Entertainment Pundit of the Year, and Sports Commentator of the Year.

By Edem Mensah-Tsotorme

Google+ Linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.